#Synonymsonly Colleen’s 111th Challenge- Celebrate and Number

HAPPY ELEVENTY-FIRST CHALLENGE!

111st birthday

Join us for Colleen’s eleventy-first challenge, where this week, the challenge is to craft a poem using synonyms for the challenge words ‘celebrate’ and ‘number.’

111 ~ A Haibun

 

Auspicious symbols

Honoring life’s memories –

Colleen’s Poetry Challenge –

One hundred and eleven

Tantalizing tastes of verse.

 

As I sit to ponder and write for Colleen’s latest challenge, the numbers hit me hard. It is another day of elevens for me, and this mystic trend began around 2 years ago – around the time that dear Colleen started her challenges. And so, I go back in time, remembering my own early adventures in verse, when I was 9 years old and studied every form of verse I could find in books from the library. Rhyming couplets, limericks, ballads, sonnets… I tried them all. But time goes by and life changes and I followed different paths, with poetry falling by the wayside for a lot of years. Then there was Colleen and her Challenges, and she is one of the main reasons behind poetry being such a large part of my life again.

Thank you, Colleen, and a joyful one hundred and eleventh challenge to you all!

Comments

7 responses to “#Synonymsonly Colleen’s 111th Challenge- Celebrate and Number”

  1. Colleen Chesebro Avatar
    Colleen Chesebro

    How lovely! And, I was totally lost in the numerological significance of my 111th challenge. WOW! I’m so tickled you picked up on that. What an amazing Haibun Tanka… look how far we’ve come, Sister! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Colleen Chesebro Avatar
    Colleen Chesebro

    And, by the way… I was the 1,001th person to comment on your blog!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wendy Anne Darling Avatar

      OMG! Is the Multiverse trying to tell us something, OR WHAT?!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Colleen Chesebro Avatar
        Colleen Chesebro

        LOL! I thought you would freak out. I almost fell out of my chair!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. robbiesinspiration Avatar

    111 challenges, isn’t that just incredible. Great poem, Wendy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wendy Anne Darling Avatar

      Thanks Robbie! A departure from my usual ones but I felt the occasion deserved celebration. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. […] #Synonymsonly Colleen’s 111th Challenge- Celebrate and Number – Wendy Anne Darling – YA Fantas… […]

    Liked by 1 person

PLEASE NOTE THAT WHEN YOU VISIT, LIKE, COMMENT ON, AND SHARE MY BLOG POSTS, YOU ARE AGREEING WITH THE STORAGE AND HANDLING OF YOUR DATA BY WORDPRESS. PLEASE READ THE PRIVACY STATEMENT IN THE ABOVE MENU.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.