I’m not dead yet, Part Two: A Very Special Kind of Magic.

WENDYFOOTHILLS

View of Boulder, CO Foothills from my window.

I’m not Dead Yet, Part Two:
A Very Special Kind of Magic.

“Well? What about that magic?” I hear you ask.

As you have all probably guessed, my ideas about the nature of Magic could be called a little unorthodox. I believe Magic not only exists but it exists in us and in every living thing. Kind of like a pilot light for a furnace.

You can keep going with only your pilot light, simply existing until the flame dies away, or you can add some fuel and crank it up.

Q: So, what sort of fuel do you need to feed elemental magic, hmmm? Come on – you’ll kick yourself when you know what it is. 😀

A: The very best fuel to mix with that inexplicable flame is LOVE. Love and compassion for all living beings.

THAT’S IT.

Well… nearly, anyway. You’ve probably already realized that the flame of life CAN be mixed with a variety of other fuels; fear, hatred, envy, greed… all bring about varieties of magic that most of us could well do without. And, YES – even the best of us can trip up and produce bad magic, (I’ll leave my beliefs about our lizard brains for another blog post).

It has been an eventful few weeks. I can honestly say that – if I HAD to break my hip – I certainly encountered some major magic along the way!

FLUFFY

Somebody very kindly gave me an invisible dog, who I decided to call ‘Fluffy.’ To those in ‘the know,’ this was a bit of ironic fun, as Fluffy was actually a completely bald chihuahua.

One of the most fabulous acts of magic was my sister, Cat Lake-Benson, arriving to visit me from England. As we hadn’t seen each other ‘for realz’ in eleven years. large quantities of grateful tears were shed! ♥

I wish I could remember the names of some of the wonderful people at Memorial Central – the first hospital I was treated at in Colorado Springs. Their professionalism, kindness and understanding (now, that’s a story all by itself!) was phenomenal. Lainey remembers more than I can, but I put them through some unusual trials when the meds kicked in!

I was then moved to Boulder Community Hospital’s rehabilitation until, which I can actually remember more about.  If I told you that the magic of love and compassion there was palpable, you’d probably say I’m nuts. Well – I AM – but it was REAL anyway.

How often have you had to go into hospital for 3 weeks and really, seriously MISS the amazing staff and other patients when you leave? I never thought that could happen to me, but it did. Pain meds kind of scrambled me a little and I do so wish I’d written down everybody’s names as I know I will forget some as I write this.

Nurses Lisa and the amazing Nick may very well come back to life as characters in my next book. Doctor Tsu, Lisa (case manager), Kevin and Caurel (2 of my therapists). I remember more names towards the end of my stay, when my head was clearing. Laurel, Lauren, Dianna, Erica; all of my wonderful practitioners of medical and compassionate magic – even if I can’t remember your names at this instant, I can see your faces, so please comment so I can thank you by name! The simple fact that I could have walked out of there on my own two feet so soon after my fall stunned me.

Fellow patients; Gary and his beautiful wife, Alice, Charlie and his family; Hunter and Stefan, Kim and Chris. You made mealtimes disappear like quicksilver! I hope I get to meet you all again, this side of the mirror.

You all give the phrase ‘perfect strangers’ new meaning in my mind and felt to me like family and close friends by the time I left to come home.

Thank you all. Yours is a very special kind of magic.

From Wendy Anne Darling, with love.

xoxoxoxoxoxoxox

2 thoughts on “I’m not dead yet, Part Two: A Very Special Kind of Magic.

Leave a Reply

