I’m not dead yet…

golden eagle small

I’m not dead yet…

Part One.

Hello to all my great followers, and my apologies for my long absence.

So… off I went to have a fabulous time camping by myself in Colorado Springs from August 3rd through 8th, surrounded by hundreds of previously unmet, kindred spirits at the second annual Tiny House Jamboree, where a great time was had by around 60,000 wonderful people! For those of you reading this who might remember me from that weekend, I am the loony, magenta-haired English lady who volunteered at the merchandise stall on Saturday and Sunday!

The experience honestly made my heart soar. If I had any doubts about the path I have decided to follow in planning for, paying for, and building my own tiny house on wheels within the next year, it was only solidified by the wonderful new friends I made and the amazing speakers and vendors at this event.

But life is very good at throwing you curveballs, just when you believe you’re on track, doesn’t it?

Very early on the Monday morning following the end of the Jamboree, I awoke, relaxed and refreshed in my one-person tent to a clear, bright blue, Colorado Springs morning. I decided to grab the opportunity to pack up and hit the road so that I could be home before rush hour hit.

Well… that didn’t go as planned, did it?

The very last tent stake appeared determined to stay buried, exactly where it was. It obviously had no intention of heading for home. I pulled and pulled and pulled and – well – you can probably imagine what happened next.

You got it! I ended up in a heap on the ground with one thing I’d never had in my life before; a broken hip. I think this was the only thing that’s ever happened to me that I can honestly say hurt more than childbirth.

Yes… REALLY. I think I screamed my head off that day more than ever before in my life.

Many campers had already packed up and left for home the night before, but, luckily, I had chosen to camp fairly close to the Portapotties. I was only lying in the damp grass, drifting between throwing up and unconsciousness, for what seemed like 5 minutes before somebody appeared.

I’m one of those people that detests asking for help, but, you know what? Somehow I had no problem asking for help – although I guess I did it in a very British, stiff-upper-lip way; “Good morning! Would you mind very much coming over to help me when you’re done with the bathroom?” A slightly perplexed “Sure!” was the answer. Poor lady probably thought I was drunk or sunbathing. 😀 She did, however, return a few minutes later and realized the gravity of the situation (Gravity! LOL! Gravity strikes again!).

Before long there was a small crowd surrounding me and one lovely lady called 911 while another packed up the rest of my stuff. How I wish I could give them a shout out and remember their names, but I was way beyond trying to remember anything. These two lovely perfect strangers not only stayed with me until the ambulance came; one of them drove my car to the hospital and both stayed around until about the middle of the day to make sure I was being taken care of! There really are such things as modern day Samaritans. Dear Colleen Chesebro and her husband; who live not far away, came in to see me as well, which cheered me up a lot. I don’t remember much, but I CAN remember Ron saying “It will all be alright.” 😀 (Edit: Lainey has just jogged my ‘memory’ that, actually, Donna LaWall was there on the day I actually broke my hip and Colleen and Ron came the day after. What can I say? Those painkillers are bad news! Thanks, Donna ♥)

Later that day, the surgeon operated on my hip, running a nice, big pin and two nails to put me back together. Did you know they STAPLE you closed these days? Certainly took ME by surprise!

Anyway; today’s installment ends with me still being alive. Stay tuned for part two – part two is when the magic enters the story!

😀

Leave a Reply

