Hugh’s Weekly Photo Challenge: Week 27 – Vintage

IMG_20160603_110024393

Click here to join us on Hugh’s Weekly Photo Challenge! This week, the challenge is ‘Vintage.’

It probably won’t surprise anybody that several of the items that are precious to me are books! Aside from having succeeded in purchasing replacement copies of all the childhood books I loved and lost when my family moved to South Africa. I love this copy of ‘The Works of Shakspeare’* which was given to me by a friend in 1982, with a previous dedication of ‘To dear Little Ula from “Toddles” Nov: 1908. I’d love to know who they were!

IMG_20160603_110134685

*Shakspeare is as written on the Cover. and the fly leaf has ‘Ladies’ College, Cheltenham’ handwritten  on it.

IMG_20160603_110101979

My daughter Lainey has done some research on it and concluded that it was probably printed around 1890. Likely to have been mass produced for schools, this one still has the gilding visible on the top edge.

IMG_20160603_110224350

This edition, though not in very good shape, is precious to me, nonetheless, and now lives life protected in a Ziplock baggie! 😀

 

Wendy Anne Darling

 

4 thoughts on “Hugh’s Weekly Photo Challenge: Week 27 – Vintage

  1. What a great item to own, Wendy. So pleased to hear of its history that your daughter was able to find out. I often see books with messages on the inside cover in secondhand bookstores and I often wonder who the people were. How did they end up there? I bet they could tell a great story if they could talk to us.
    Thank you for participating in my weekly photo challenge.

    Like

Leave a Reply

