So this is love?

*

Can’t breathe;

the pain so deep

tears at my soul, and, my heart

fit to explode

runs like a train on broken tracks

derails and hurtles down the cliff.

*

Darkness

at the bottom, scared;

so cold I feel each heartbeat

like stabbing ice

so dark, the blackness palpable

encloses me and I can only whimper.

*

Oh dear God, help me

I can’t get out

Knees buckle and

my stomach knots.

*

But I can crawl.

*

Back to the light

the light that blinds;

so strong

it hits me

breaks more bones

but I can’t stop

hypnotic, like a drug…

*

So this is love?

*

*

Wendy Anne Darling

2 thoughts on “So this is love?

  1. Thank you, Stevie! It’s an odd thing… I started writing poetry when I was 9 years old… before I started writing stories, drawing, or just about anything else, but I got out of the habit of doing it. I get more ‘likes’ and comments on my poems than on anything else though; do you think the universe is trying to tell me something? 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

